Free Speech at public universities

The real question is: Is it funny?

Yadda, yadda, yadda, Reason reports:

The first complaints date back to 2005, and the professor, Richard Crandall, was ordered to remove the materials from his door in 2007 (he eventually complied). Items included a photo of Ronald Reagan, pictures mocking Hillary Clinton, a sign posting a “Notice of the Weekly Meeting of the White, Male, Heterosexual Faculty and Staff Association (WMHFSA),” and various cartoons about abortion, Islamic terrorism and other topics. One depicts two hooded women looking over a photo album. One says, “And that’s my youngest son, Hakim. He’ll be martyring in the fall.” The other replies, “They blow up so fast.”

Well, luckily you can see the offending pictures here (PDF) – albeit in fairly low quality.

Here are the two items I found funny:

A Florist goes to a barber for a haircut. After the cut he asked about his bill and the barber replies: “I’m sorry, I cannot accept money from you; I’m doing community service this week.” The florist is pleased and leaves the shop.

Next morning, when the barber goes to open there is a thank you card and a dozen roses waiting for him at his door.

Later, a cop comes in for a haircut, and when he goes to pay his bill the barber again replies: “I’m sorry, I cannot accept money from you; I’m doing community service this week.” The cop is happy and leaves the shop.

Next morning, when the barber goes to open up there is a thank you card and a dozen donuts waiting for him at his door.

Later, a Republican comes in for a haircut, and when he goes to pay his bill the barber again replies: “I’m sorry, I cannot accept money from you; I’m doing community service this week.” The Republican is very happy and leaves the shop.

Next morning, when the barber goes to open, there is a thank you card and a dozen different books such as “How to Improve Your Business” and “Becoming More Successful”.

Then a Democrat comes in for a haircut, and when he goes to pay his bill the barber again replies: “I’m sorry, I cannot accept money from you; I’m doing community service this week.” The Democrat is very happy and leaves the shop.

The next morning when the barber goes to open up, there’s a dozen Democrats lined up waiting for a free haircut.

See, now contrary to most of these cases where we have to debate the limits of free speech this one actually is FUNNY. Usually they are painfully not-funny. This one’s just fine the way it is.

And, another funny one:

President Reagan’s Last Words

I don’t know whether or not you watched the memorial service for Ronald Reagan, BUT…if you did, you probably noticed that Bill and Hillary were both dozing off.

President Ronald Reagan, who never missed a chance for a good one-liner, raised his head out of his casket and said…..

“I see the Clintons are finally sleeping together.”

Now, this one’s not particularly funny but at least it isn’t terribly “makes-me-want-to-bash-my-head-into-a-wall”-bad either.

Here‘s some more Reagan funny:

Depression is when you’re out of work. A recession is when your neighbor’s out of work. Recovery is when Carter’s out of work.

The trouble with our liberal friends is not that they are ignorant, but that they know so much that isn’t so.

Thomas Jefferson made a comment about the Presidency and age. He said that one should not worry about one’s exact chronological age in reference to his ability to perform one’s task. And ever since he told me that I stopped worrying.

I hope you’re a Republican. Speaking to surgeons as he entered the operating room following a 1981 assassination attempt. To which Dr. Joseph Giordano replied, “We’re all Republicans today.”

When the chips are down and the decisions are made as to who the candidates will be, then the 11th commandment prevails and everybody goes to work, and that is: Thou shalt not speak ill of another Republican.

I have left orders to be awakened at any time in case of national emergency, even if I’m in a cabinet meeting.

I am not worried about the deficit. It is big enough to take care of itself.

I want you to know that also I will not make age an issue of this campaign. I am not going to exploit, for political purposes, my opponent’s youth and inexperience.

Government’s view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

Liberals fought poverty and poverty won.


Easy to see why he was so popular. Wish we could get another one – it’s about damn  time, too.

Leave a Reply

